The state of Florida can suspend your driver’s license for a variety of reasons. These reasons could include failing to provide the correct proof to specific agencies or failure to pay fines and fees such as traffic tickets. The state can also suspend your license as a penalty for a DUI or other significant traffic offenses. Regardless of why your driver’s license is not valid, it can be a major hardship for you and your family when you are unable to drive. What happens if you choose to drive anyway and then get pulled over by the police?
You may face criminal charges
Depending on your driving record, you might face a misdemeanor or possibly a felony for driving with a suspended license in Florida. A first offense is a misdemeanor that could lead to a fine of as much as $500 and possibly 60 days in jail. A second offense is still a misdemeanor, but the fine can increase to $1,000. A judge could also sentence you to up to a year in state custody. Those with two or more prior offenses will face a third-degree felony charge that could carry up to $5,000 in fines and five years in prison. Given how the penalties increase with each subsequent offense, defending yourself even against the initial allegations is crucial.
Speak with an attorney
Getting pulled over with a suspended driver’s license means you will need to attend court to defend yourself. Mr. Viacava will be with you side by side, every step of the process making it easier on you. Mr. Lee Viacava will explain the possible consequences you may face for driving with a suspended license; speak with a criminal defense attorney such as Lee Viacava, who handles these cases and can answer your questions.